General Discussion
 Topics of or related to poetry. 

eMule -> The Poetry Archive -> Forums -> General Discussion

Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
What are some poems that everyone must know?
Posted by: Negultive (---.washdc3.elnk.dsl.genuity.)
Date: January 15, 2004 09:44PM

What are the most well-known, famous, and celebrated poems in the world? Is the Top Poems list on this site pretty accurate, or are there others that scholars love, but aren't listed? I am a poetry newbie, and just want to learn about some of the greats. Are there any good history of poetry, analysis, or good introductions into the subject anywhere online?

Also, how does one go about knowing a poem? I am not talking interpretation-wise, but just remembering a poem. Like if you read a long book, even if you forget specifics, you still remember the general idea of it a long time afterwards. The reason is because you live within the world of the book for such a long time. With poems it's different though, since a first-read is so quick and short. Not only that, but it's much less concrete, and so harder to remember. Is memorization the only method? Or do you have to spend a large amount of time just thinking about and re-reading the one poem? What methods do you use, if any? Or what is your approach to poetry?

Re: What are some poems that everyone must know?
Posted by: -Les- (---.trlck.ca.charter.com)
Date: January 15, 2004 10:23PM

Negultive, I'd like to address a few of the points that you have raised here. First of all, the top poems list on this site is calculated by the number of hits by readers. What that means is that if there are a lot of our current readers who have assignments to read Edgar Allen Poe, his poems will be at the top of the list. Next week that would change according to the requests (hits) of the readers.