Topics of or related to poetry. 

eMule -> The Poetry Archive -> Forums -> General Discussion

Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
understanding poetry--perhaps too personal for some
Posted by: Jeffrey (---.proxy.aol.com)
Date: July 04, 2003 04:03AM

Hello everyone,

I have a question, of course. Please allow me some latitude to give you a brief background of myself that will enable me to lead up to my question. I am, what I would consider myself to be, an aspiring poet. Aspiring to what--well, I don't know, recognition from others (probably to be most honest with you). I enjoy writing and reading some poetry. I especially like Tennyson's "Flower in a Crannied Wall" because it says so little but yet says so much. I also like some works by Whitman and Auden. I have no formal schooling in the arts, such as poetry. I have never had any of my work published. I am actually a non-practicing social worker (by educational background) and a person who is in a trans-racial adoption (with my wife) and a wonderful African-American young boy. This situation is one that lends itself to many (positive) things I would like to say via my own poetry. Here is my question--other than the above, there are not that many poems/poets that I have read that "do that much for me". Am I missing something, am I in the wrong field? Where do I go from here? I have read that good poetry can be powerful and "change your life". Any advice at all would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Re: understanding poetry--perhaps too personal for some
Posted by: -Les- (---.trlck.ca.charter.com)
Date: July 04, 2003 04:17AM

Jeffrey, a couple of thoughts come to mind after reading your brief biographical sketch. One is that if the poetry you enjoy is "of another age" then it could be that you will find it difficult to find an audience for your own work if you imitate that style. In other words, create your own style.