General Discussion
 General Discussion 

eMule -> The Poetry Archive -> Forums -> General Discussion

Goto Thread: PreviousNext
Goto: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
The Jabberwocky
Posted by: MikeW (152.34.37.---)
Date: October 31, 2000 03:25PM

I am a student at the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics. I have chosen Jabberwocky as my poem for a musical composition. I was wondering if any out there would like to help me interpret this poem?

Thanks A Ton,
Mike

RE: The Jabberwocky
Posted by: Pat Hathaway (---.inetarena.com)
Date: October 31, 2000 10:54PM

Try using Yahoo! and searching under The Big Monster. It's sorta fun.

Posted by: Peter (---.host.btclick.com)
Date: November 01, 2000 03:30AM

Mike
Forgive me, but if the choice is yours, why have you picked this particular piece if you then need help explaining it? Jabberwocky is a piece of nonsense verse, told to a little girl by a mathematics don at Oxford University. Much of the two most famous books by Carroll are pure fantasy - although some of the verses are rewritings of extant poetry of the time: a good example being 'Twinkle, twinkle ...'
Children (of all ages?) love to hear new words. The older fashion for dinosaur names, which they can pronounce long before other, more 'useful' names; and the current craze for the Pokemon characters with their wierd and wonderful names are proof of that, surely?
I think you have to imagine that all the names in the poem Jabberwocky are actual ones, as a child would. I suppose you will have seen an edition of the book with the original Tenniel drawings? If not, you should .... to see how one interpretor saw it. And a lot of Edward Lear stuff is very similar: he illustrated his own work.
Regards Peter

Posted by: Soma (---.tnt1.hba1.da.uu.net)
Date: November 01, 2000 05:31AM

Mike, go to '"Alice Through the Looking Glass" and speak to Humpty Dumpty! Alice did.